Banana Pancakes Kind of Day.

Can’t you see that it’s just raining?
There ain’t no need to go outside…

I’ve been playing single parent for the past few days while Hub is away for work. Although we are somewhat used to his work demands, this trip has been the longest in awhile and quite taxing on all of us.

We live pretty independent lives as the girls keep me crazy busy and his job keeps long hours. So having him away on business doesn’t make a big difference in our routine but it makes my world feel off kilter. Like my compass doesn’t point true north or my tether is a bit loose.

We could close the curtains
Pretend like there’s no world outside…

When things are “off,” I generally just hunker down and try and ride out the storm without donning my crazypants. We watch lots of cartoons, eat lots of peanut butter and jelly and I drink lots of wine.

And as Murphy’s Law would have it, all hell breaks loose when I’m flying solo.

– We all come down with some bizarre cold/flu/plague-like illness.
-Chunk begins cutting five (!!!) teeth.
-The shower won’t turn off.
-The kitchen light won’t turn on.

And for the grand finale…

– The house alarm started going off while I was making dinner and would.not.shut.off.

This song is meant to keep you from doing what you’re supposed to
Like waking up too early, maybe we could sleep in.
I’ll make you banana pancakes
Pretend like it’s the weekend, now.

Mother Hubbard’s cupboards are bare so I whipped up some tasty banana pancakes for dinner. I ran out of vanilla (of course) so sprinkled a bit of cinnamon on top for the girls. I, in a prime example of emotionally-fueled starvation, slathered mine with a thick layer of nutella. Healthy? Notachance. Delicious? Ohmygoodnessyes.

Telephone singing, ringing,It’s too early, don’t pick it up
We don’t need to.
We got everything we need right here and everything we need is enough.

As I put a very spent B to sleep this evening, I sang Jack Johnson’s “Banana Pancakes” and swayed in the glow of the hallway light. It’s sing-songy melody inspired Em to sneak out of her room and into the hallway to have a her own private, silent dance party while her sister slept. Thanks, Jack – you will never now just how much this poor, exhausted Momma needed that reminder of how sweet those two girls really are.

It’s just easy when the whole world fits inside of your arms
Do we really need to pay attention to the alarm…

Hub will be back before my bedtime tonight and not a moment too soon. He is back to the grind tomorrow but I will rest easier and sleep sweeter knowing my partner in crime is nearby.

…Wake up slow, wake up slow.


Leave a Reply

