Farmer’s Market Find: Roasted Veggies and Squash Cookies

I’ve had a lot of fun with the goods from Saturday’s farmer’s market. So much fun, in fact, a single, lonely tomato, some cornmeal and eggs are all that’s left. I like to show you what I bought each week but I don’t usually elaborate on how I use it all. So, here’s a recap of what I bought and how it was used.

  •  Two dozen, free-range, organic-fed eggs
  • One bunch kale
  • slicer tomatoes
  • green peppers
  • Vidalia onions
  • Sicilian eggplant
  • yellow cornmeal
  • canary melon
  • zephyr squash
  • sweet peppers

I suppose we’ll start from the top.  Two dozen eggs probably seems like a lot to the typical family of four. But as we have been eating less meat, we’ve upped our eggs as they’re an excellent source of protein. I bake a lot and we go through about four hardboiled eggs each day. We buy our eggs from a local farmer who is certified organic and gives his chickens free access to the outdoors (and a coop, if so desired). Pastured eggs can be expensive, but with good reason. Did you know that eggs produced in these conditions are lower in cholesterol and saturated fat while having higher levels of vitamins, omegas and other nutrients compared to their grocery store counterparts? Check out the details.

Moving along, at least three of the tomatoes were sliced and ate plain with a dash of salt and pepper. The green pepper and an onion were sautéed with some chicken sausage for a quick lunch. I juiced the kale along with some organic carrots, apples and grapes.  I’m going to use the cornmeal for biscuits and in a polenta recipe but haven’t had time just yet. Fortunately, it keeps well in the freezer.

The canary melon was fantastic.  Hub needs to get these seeds because we are definitely growing them in our garden. I had never heard of them but sampled a piece at the market. I really hope they have more on Saturday because once cut, it only lasted about an hour. It is similar in flavor to a honeydew but much, much sweeter. Ours was the perfect ripeness (is that a word?) and the texture was close to that of a cantaloupe. It had a very thin rind so not much was wasted.

Last night’s dinner used up a bulk of our vegetables. I sliced the eggplant, two zephyr squash, and the remaining onion; added the sweet peppers whole and some store-bought mushrooms and marinated the mixture in a balsamic vinaigrette dressing. I roasted them on a cookie sheet at 375° for about an hour and placed the veggies over whole grain pasta, topped with spaghetti sauce. Hub and the girls loved it and although I’m not a huge fan of mushrooms, the variety of vegetables and flavors made it quite tasty.

roasted veggies and peppers over pasta

I had one zephyr squash remaining so this morning, I made a modified version of the chewy zucchini-lemon sugar cookie recipe I found in June/July Kiwi magazine.

1 medium zucchini or yellow squash, shredded (I used zephyr squash)
1 1/2 c. white whole wheat flour (I used regular whole wheat)
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 c. unsalted butter (I used Best Life as it’s dairy-free)
3/4 c. raw cane sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp lemon zest
2 TBSP 1% milk (I used original almond milk)

Place shredded squash on a paper towel for 30 minutes to absorb some of the moisture. In a bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and salt. In a standing mixer, beat the butter for about a minute.  Add the sugar, beat for another two minutes or until fluffy.  Add the vanilla, lemon zest and milk and mix until blended. Add in the flour mixture, slowly, and mix until blended. Fold in squash. Drop tablespoon size dollops onto a parchment paper-lined cookie sheet and bake at 375° for 13-16 minutes or until slightly golden. They won’t appear completely done which is fine as they continue to set as they cool. Keep in mind there isn’t anything raw in this recipe so don’t worry about them being under-cooked.

Glaze with a powdered sugar, milk and lemon zest/extract mixture. I topped with sugar crystals but that is clearly optional.

chewy squash-lemon sugar cookies

Don’t be off-put by the inclusion of squash. It has such a mild flavor, you really can’t taste it. It just adds a bit of texture and ups the health-factor. I don’t recommend eating these as a “health food” because of the butter and sugar but if I’m going to give my kids a cookie, I feel better knowing they are at least getting some nutrients.

5 thoughts on “Farmer’s Market Find: Roasted Veggies and Squash Cookies

  1. oh man. i think squash in baked goods is fantastic. one of my favorite breads is an acorn squash loaf and one of my favorite muffins is a gingerbread like muffin that has a ton of butternut squash! yum.

  2. Pingback: 30 Days Veggie: I’m a poor planner. | The Lambent Life

Leave a Reply

