Home for the Holiday.

Happy Fourth of July, folks. Things here at The Lambent Life household are unusually, yet pleasantly quiet today. Hub is home from work and instead of filling our day with fun festivities and summertime activities, we decided to skip it all and just hang out together. It’s so incredibly rare to have Hub home during the week without something to do or somewhere to go. Even our weekends are jam-packed between the market on Saturday and church on Sunday with other errands and nap time sandwiched between. So we took today as an opportunity to just catch up and be (cute).

firecrackers

I’m feeling a little homesick, too. This is the first Fourth of July in I don’t know how many years that we haven’t made it home to Pennsylvania. In fact, with the exception of one weekend flight and a whirlwind wedding weekend for this girl, we haven’t been able to visit since Christmas. And there is nothing like a summertime visit to your childhood home to make you feel complete and able to breathe a little deeper.

So we’re hunkering down, enjoying the simple things today. Like a trip to Target that cost almost as much as our weekly grocery budget and these awesome blueberry & lemon pancakes.

lemon & blueberry pancakes

These are by far the best dairy-free pancakes I’ve ever made. And so, so easy. If I had known years ago how easy homemade pancakes were, I never would have bothered with the boxed stuff.  Another way, I suppose, B’s dairy allergy has been a blessing. I don’t really follow a recipe, but here’s how I made this morning’s lovelies:

  • 3 cups and 2 TBSP flour
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 6 tsp baking powder
  • 1 ½ TBSP sugar
  • 1 ½ cups original almond milk
  • 5 TBSP coconut butter, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tsp lemon extract
  • A whole lotta frozen blueberries (approximately 2 ½ cups)

Mix the dry ingredients in a large bowl. Mix in almond milk, melted butter, and eggs. Add lemon extract, mix. Gently fold in frozen blueberries. Cook over medium/medium-low heat until edges form and bubbles appear; flip.

I don’t find the need to oil or spray my skillet before or between pancakes. But depending on your pans or preference, you may. This yields enough pancakes for two adult, two kids and some left over to freeze for the rushed morning’s breakfast. I’ve been meaning to swap the lemon extract for the juice and zest of a lemon but, darn it, I keep using up all my lemons in cocktails. A sacrifice worth making, I suppose. The lemon and blueberries can be swapped for whatever other add-ins or flavors you prefer – or just leave them plain.

The rest of today’s agenda is clear, clear, clear. Isn’t that a wonderful feeling? Maybe the kids will play in the sprinklers. Maybe we’ll go for a run. At some point we’ll throw some veggie burgers and squash on the grill. I just wish we could have days like this more often.

Did you do anything exciting today? Do you live near family? If not, how often do you visit?

9 thoughts on “Home for the Holiday.

  1. Hey sweetie, I completely understand what it is like to not have a clear schedule… Oh how I long for those days… anyways… My exciting 4th plans deal with me sitting in nice AC at work… Not much fun…. But I really love the pics of your two wee ones and can not wait to see you…. Maybe all of you can come up and the wee ones can experience our home town fire works!

  2. Pingback: Friday Round-Up: July 6, 2012 – The Midwest Maven

  3. Pingback: Gluten-Free Goodies. | The Lambent Life

Leave a Reply

