Oh goodness, granola!

I don’t have much time to write today because my house is a disaster and E is starting soccer tonight (!) so I need to stop being a procrastinator and get crap done.

BUT.

I had to take a minute and share a fantastic granola recipe. I love the combination of oats, nuts, maple syrup and some good ole healthy fats. For the convenience of life with two small children, I typically like granola bars but this loose granola is really good and versatile. With the perfect combination of salty and sweet, it fills me up and I’m not left hankering for something else. I like to serve it over a cup of Fage greek yogurt for a post-run lunch that’s full of protein, fat and fiber.

The bowl looks huge next to my mouse and keyboard. I’m not that gluttonous, I swear.

I made a few slight adaptions to a recipe from my sweet friend Amie (who really should start a blog to share all her amazing homemaking skills), who adapted it from a Food Network recipe. So, no kitchen mavens here, just folks with particular tastes.

  • 2 3/4 c organic rolled oats
  • 1 c unsweetened coconut flakes (I used sweetened because I’m a poor planner)
  • 1 c sunflower seeds
  • 1/3 c raw pumpkin seeds
  • 1/3 c raw pecans, chopped
  • 1 TBSP kosher salt (or 1 1/2 teaspoons fine salt)
  • 1/4 c packed light brown sugar
  • 1/3 c maple syrup
  • 1/3 c coconut oil
  • 1/2 c craisins
  • chocolate chips to taste (I buy Good Life because they’re dairy-free)

Preheat the oven to 300°. Line 2 rimmed baking sheets with parchment paper. Toss the oats, coconut, sunflower seeds, pepitas and salt in a large bowl. Warm the brown sugar, maple syrup and olive oil in a small saucepan over low heat, stirring, until the sugar dissolves (note: I skipped this step because I was also refereeing play-do playtime and wasn’t paying attention. Adding it directly to the oat mixture works fine). Fold the sugar mixture into the oat mixture to evenly coat.

Spread the granola on the prepared baking sheets and bake, stirring often, until dry and lightly golden, about 40 minutes. Remove from the oven and toss with the craisins and chocolate chips. Let cool to room temperature. Store in an airtight container for up to 1 week or freeze for up to 1 month.

I actually left the chocolate chips out entirely but added them as desired to each serving. I don’t like to give the girls straight chocolate and the granola still tastes amazing without the chips.

What’s your favorite granola recipe? Are you more of a “loose” or “bar” person?

2 thoughts on “Oh goodness, granola!

  1. I don’t eat loose granola very often because I have no self control 🙂 I do have a dark chocolate and almond granola in my cereal drawer right now, though – can’t remember the brand name.
    This recipe looks awesome and I have most I the ingredients already. Don’t have coconut oil – I need to jump on that bandwagon and buy some.

    • Yes! That’s another reason why I usually make bars. I tend to be a grazer.

      My friend uses EVOO and it’s still delicious. I just prefer the health benefits of coconut oil. If you use EVOO, cut the baking time way down to about 20-25 minutes. For some reason coconut oil takes a much longer time to bake 🙂

Leave a Reply

