Butternut Squash Soup.

If fashion can have “hot” colors for the season, I find it to be perfectly logical that a kitchen can have “it” vegetables for a season. I’m making a bold statement and declaring butternut squash to be the hottest vegetable for autumn.

Wow, that sounds incredibly lame.

And yet it’s so true. When wracking my brain for tasty and seasonal meal ideas, I keep going back to this flavorful, colorful and versatile fall squash. It’s made its appearance on our table on several occasions this year and it’s only mid-September. We are such fans, our fall garden even has it’s own row of butternut squash.

Far and away my favorite butternut squash dinner is butternut squash soup with apples and carrots served with a hunk of crusty, soft-centered bread. I’ve been experimenting with the basic 5 minute artisan bread recipe with moderate success. The loaves taste great but aren’t looking very pretty.

Back to the recipe at hand.

Image

Butternut Squash Soup with Apples and Carrots

– 1 medium butternut squash (about 2 1/2 lbs), peeled, seeded and chopped
– 3 medium carrots, peeled and chopped
– 1 granny smith apple, peeled and chopped
– 1 large or 2 medium yellow onions, chopped
– 2 TBSP oil (EVOO or coconut)
– 1/2 tsp garlic powder OR 2 garlic cloves, minced
– 1/2 tsp salt
–  5 1/2 cups vegetable broth (or chicken broth)
– 1/2 tsp nutmeg
– 1/2 tsp cayenne powder (optional)

In a stockpot, saute the squash, carrots and onion in the oil until onion becomes translucent. Add salt, garlic and apple. Saute another 5 minutes. Add broth and bring to a boil. Reduce to a low boil, cover. Cook until vegetables are soft, approximately 20 minutes. Using a blender, puree the soup in batches (an immersion blender can also be used). Return to the pot, stir in nutmeg and cayenne (if desired). Keep warm until ready to serve. Garnish with additional nutmeg.

I’ve made this recipe both using the cayenne and omitting. I tend to get a bit spice-happy with the cayenne so taste it as you add because it has some kick. With or without, it’s delicious.

Image

9 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Soup.

  1. 5-min Artisian Bread is the best!!! We use all of their recipies in our house now for anything bread related! It does take some experimenting with loaf formation for sandwich, baguettes, and round loaf types to get it to look nicer, but we don’t worry too much about it 🙂

    • That makes me feel better! Everyone else made it seem like it was easy-peasy. Every time I make it, my dough is super sticky. I’ve added almost a cup additional flour each time but inevitably when it done rising, it’s far too wet to shape into a ball. Has that happened to you?

  2. Looks delish! I love butternut squash soup. Plus, this actually looks like a soup recipe that I could make, somewhat easily! For some reason, I’m easily intimidated by soups.

    • It really is easy! I think the chopping is the hardest part – as in, it takes awhile – but next time I’m going to try prepping all the veggies earlier in the day or even the night before. PLUS, butternut squash freezes pretty well so I’m hoping to stock up my freezer.

  3. Pingback: Welcoming Fall |

  4. This looks so good! I actually have half of an enormous butternut squash I have leftover from a seasonal salad I made with it, so I might be trying this tonight! Mmmm. =)

  5. Pingback: Sweet Butternut Squash Soup | Life So Lovely.

Leave a Reply

