Fall CSA: Week 1.

This morning was wonderful. First of all, the girls both slept until 8 a.m. 8 a.m.! It may as well have been noon. Not waking before sunrise for the first time in ages felt simply incredible. Secondly, today was our first pick up with Urbanna Farm’s fall CSA. Locally grown vegetables by familiar hands – we are quite blessed. The weather at the park was a perfectly cool 74° to welcome the first day of fall.

After greeting old friends and meeting new friends, I picked up the produce while J let the girls play at the playground. We came home with eggplant, patty pan squash, a few tomatoes, arugala, banana peppers, cucumber, bell peppers and a whopping 8 pounds of sweet potatoes. Aren’t they all beautiful?

Now my task for the remainder of the day is figuring out a menu that not just uses these goodies, but does so in a way that minimizes waste while maximizing the use of our very small fridge. I need to prioritize and plan to use the most perishable items sooner and save the more sturdy ones for later in the week (despite how badly I want to get my hands on that squash).

So, here’s the game plan.

Because I have a baguette that desperately needs to be used, tonight I’ll make bruschetta using the green peppers, some banana peppers, tomatoes and Kelsey D’s giardiniera. I’ll fix up a salad using the cucumber and radishes. Tomorrow, I’m planning to use the arugala for this green pizza recipe from Eating Well. I’m undecided on how to use the squash and sweet potatoes but have some tasty ideas in mind.

I’m completely baffled on what to do with the eggplant.  In the past, I’ve tossed it in balsamic vinegar and oil and roasted it. It was good but with five eggplants to use, I think I need some versatility.

What your favorite eggplant recipe? Is it best grilled, fried or baked? 

4 thoughts on “Fall CSA: Week 1.

  1. I also have two (small) eggplants and have been pondering what to do with them. Your post inspired me to look on allrecipes.com to see what popular eggplant recipes were out there. I think I may make eggplant lasagna. Sadly, the chances of my husband eating it are slim. Good luck with your bounty!

    • My sister made an eggplant lasagna that she said was very, very good. We’re back to avoiding dairy (boo) so it’s out for us 😦 I did dice up 1/2 of a small eggplant and toss it in with some tomatoes, peppers and onion for a light sauce over pasta and it was pretty tasty. But I still have 4 to go through, yipes!

  2. I have yet to get eggplant in my box this year. But last year I made this pizza and it was delish!…http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/garden-eggplant-pizza-10000001057286/. I have also just tried it simply roasted. It is a little bland but I found that it made a nice side dish as a substitute for potatoes or rice.

    Come and link up to this week’s CSA link party when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/09/19/whats-in-the-box-44/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

Leave a Reply

