Sweet Potato Saturdays.

We’re falling into a nice routine with our autumn Saturday mornings that I could certainly get used to. The temperatures have been lovely and everyone seems to have calmed from the frenzy of summertime. For the second Saturday in a row, the girls have both slept in which has been a pleasant surprise each morning.

We picked up our CSA share and let the girls play for a bit while we chatted with other members and swapped recipe ideas. Our share this week is more or less identical to last week’s with the addition of some turnip greens and less the cucumber. Adding another eight pounds of sweet potatoes has necessitated some culinary creativity by yours truly.

After a short nap by the little one (this is day two without her pacifier and she’s still a bit shell-shocked, I think), J asked me if it would be alright if he took the girls outside to play while he did yard work.  I laughed in his face.  Would it be alright? Uh, yes. Please, proceed if you must. Somehow I’ll handle a few hours of silence with a kitchen full of goods practically begging to be prepared.

Commence cooking!

I love coming home and sorting through our CSA veggies. I feel like I’m a contestant on Iron Chef and I just discovered this week’s secret ingredients.

With a fresh bag of arugula, I found this recipe as inspiration for tonight’s dinner. The biggest, and I think best, change I made to the recipe was adding roasted sweet potatoes. I tossed them in 2 tablespoons coconut oil and added in thyme, sea salt and black pepper then roasted them on a foil-lined sheet at 350° for 20 minutes. Their creamy and savory flavor balanced the peppery taste of the arugula.

I didn’t have lemons so I juiced a fresh lime in it’s place. I also nixed the fresh parsley and added in rosemary and thyme. Since I can barely pronounce prosciutto, we definitely didn’t have it in our kitchen. Instead, I baked 8 slices of bacon from a local farm and crumbled it on top.

I also baked a big ole crusty loaf of bread for my carb-hungry family. But dessert was the dish that stole the show. I present to you – sweet potato brownies.

I’ve had black bean brownies in the past so I had high hopes for this recipe and it did not disappoint. I didn’t have the instant coffee grounds so I omitted it but I think it would have given the flavor an additional dimension.

Whoa, I sound like an Iron Chef judge. I always thought they were speaking nonsense but I completely understand the description. Regardless, they were good. Not exactly healthy as there is a lot of sugar and fat in them but hey, no harm in getting some extra veggies in your dessert, right?

Now, with one child in bed (yelling “Inky! INKY!” for her pacifier) and another on her way very soon), I foresee another delicious brownie and a big glass of wine in  the near future. Cheers to a simple Saturday.

What is your favorite sweet potato recipe?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Saturdays.

  1. I have always wanted to try black bean brownies, and now I’ll have to add sweet potato brownies to that list. Even though it’s 8:30am right now, I could totally go for one of those.
    Also, I think I need to jump of the coconut oil bandwagon – everyone seems to love it!
    Hope you had a great Saturday!

    • Both are pretty good. I think the black bean brownies are a bit more dry than the sweet potato kind – cake like versus fudge like, I suppose 🙂 And do it! Coconut oil is amazing. I love the way it smells when its cooking.

  2. Can’t wait to try this, Liz! I love sneaking veggies or fruits into my desserts. It justifies those days when I eat a whole row of brownies myself!

Leave a Reply

