Just keep running.

Exactly one year ago, I decided to become a runner.

I’ve always been envious of runners. Such a simple sport, athleticism in it’s most basic and primitive form. Fitness has been a big part of my adult life but for some reason, running always seemed so intimidating. Probably because it’s so basic, there is no fancy equipment or thumping cardio class to distract you from your objective – get from point A to point B in X amount of time. Go!

After the girls were born, I gave up my 5 day a week gym schedule in favor of peek-a-boo and baking. Cardio became a hobby I’d revisit once or twice a week but logically knew that such minor and inconsistent efforts won’t making a great deal of difference. I couldn’t count on both girls being healthy and happy enough to fit in cardio several times a week at the gym. I needed something different that was consistent and convenient.

So I decided to run.

I downloaded the C25K app and strapped on my runners. It took me significantly longer to complete the program than the touted 9 weeks but it works. A few times a week, that stern little voice would pipe through my headphones and tell me to RUN. Even her congratulatory, “Work out, complete” sounded angry. It still puzzles me.

On and off throughout the year, I ran. Not always far – sometimes just a mile squeezed in between J’s arrival and our early dinner time. There were some months while dealing with the worst of B’s allergy that I was lucky to get in one run a week. But it was time that was my own. With no children or expectations and the only demands were the ones I made of myself.

I’m proud of the changes I’ve made in a year but I’ve grown comfortable. I’m ready to challenge myself again. A year ago, I never thought I’d be able to run 3 miles. But I can and I’m ready for more.

Savannah’s Color Vibe 5K is in December (there’s still time to enter for a free race entry) and I’m really excited to run it with J and the girls. After that, it’s the Reindeer Run 8K the following weekend to benefit the Rape Crises Center. I really want to run the Hot Chocolate 15K in Atlanta on January 13 but it’s a bit of a drive and these kids keep throwing toddler-sized wrenches in my plans.

It’s been a year and I don’t plan on stopping or slowing – well, maybe slowing in an effort to increase mileage. But you get it. I’ve learned a lot (like running isn’t always as simple as I once thought) and it hasn’t always been fun. But I can call myself a runner.

{{The original source can’t be found but see the pin here}}

6 thoughts on “Just keep running.

  1. Good for you! I want to get back into running. Not only to get back in shape, but to have some productive “me” time. It’s easy to become complacent. What program did you use?

    • I started with couch to 5k but stopped around week 6. “Running without stopping” became less important to me than just running until I’m done. I use Log Your Run as my tracking app but recently started using Run Keeper because you can do intervals for speed training (with voice prompts) or if you follow Jeff Galloway’s methods (walk/run)

  2. I totally know what you mean, Liz. Running has become my go-to cardio over the past couple of years. I don’t always squeeze in 4 runs a weeks, but I definitely feel stronger and more in control of my body as a runner than I ever have. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

