Early Rising.

I’ve always loved getting up really, really early. There is an excitement in the early morning rising, a day full of possibility and opportunity. To accomplish more before the sun rises than some do in an entire day. Maybe it stems from my childhood on a dairy farm and the pre-dawn milkings each day.

My mind is quiet, although perhaps a bit sluggish with sleep, and the house is still while everyone else sleeps. I tried to convince J to join me on these early morning adventures for the first several years we were together with no luck. The boy goes to work incredibly early so he treasures his Saturday morning slumber.

So it’s usually just me and my coffee while it’s dark outside.

I’m a chicken about running when it’s dark out and I never run before dawn on Saturdays. But this weekend, a few members of Savannah’s Moms Run This Town were running downtown. I met them at a MRTT social hour on Tuesday and they were all completely normal not crazy really pretty so I planned to run with them.

They planned to do 6 miles which was admittedly terrifying for this solid 4-mile girl. But they followed Jeff Galloway’s method of interval running with scheduled walk intervals. I’ve never seriously ran intervals before but that Galloway guy may actually be on to something. The pace was a little slower but I felt so good that after 6 miles on intervals, I added a quick seventh mile to top off the run.

Thanks for the picture, Natalie.

I felt surprisingly good afterwards except for a gnarly blister that’s been developing on the bottom of my left foot after longer runs. I wore moleskin on it during Saturday’s run which helped but it still looks bad.

When I got back to my car, I called J to let him know I was still alive and heard this on the other end of the line:

“E, do not put your sister in a head lock! B, get off of the kitchen table. Lu! You poop outside! Hon, are you on your way home yet?”

It was only 7:30 a.m.

And that is why I enjoy waking up before everyone else. To have that piece of quiet before the storm(s).

And I’d like to clarify, I’m referring to waking before 5 a.m. by my own choice. Being roused from slumber by crying children or a neighbor’s car alarm is not energizing – that’s cruel and torture and grounds for an entire day of whining and chocolate.

Are you an early riser? A night owl? A bit of both?

8 thoughts on “Early Rising.

  1. Haha, Liz, I am so NOT an early riser on the weekends. But I envy those who are! I do like to feel accomplished, which can only come by getting your butt out of bed early. Sadly, it’s just not in the cards.

    Can you tell me more about the six-mile interval training?

    • I definitely don’t do it as much as I used to. It was a lot easier in college when I didn’t *have* to be up until 8 or 9 most days. When you only get one or two days to hit snooze, it definitely makes it harder to wake early!

      I’m no expert on interval training but there are a lot of runners that swear by it. I did it once by myself and did 4 minutes of running to 1 minute of walking for 6 intervals. So, 24 minutes of running to 6 minutes of walking. When we ran Saturday, we did 3:1s which seemed to way too easy at the beginning but towards the end, the breaks were appreciated.

      The idea is that because you are giving yourself scheduled walks, it’s easier on you physically and mentally. Knowing that you can stop ahead often pushes you to run harder/faster. At the end of 7 miles, I’d say my pace was about a minute to a minute and a half slower than it would have been without intervals and I felt great.

      Something in the back of my brain from college is saying that intervals are great for weight-loss, too, but don’t quote me on that. I think the increase/decrease in heart rate is supposed to be one of the most efficient ways to burn calories? Don’t quote me on that.

      From a physical perspective, they believe you are less prone to injuries because you are giving your knees/hips/feet a break every few minutes from the pounding. This Galloway guy is in his 70s and is still running marathons.

      • That is really fascinating. I have been experimenting with some shorter-distance sprinting interval stuff because I keep reading about the weight loss benefits (so you were spot on!) but it’s exhausting. I followed one sprinting treadmill workout that I found on Pinterest where you run for one minute at 5.0, one at 5.5, one at 6.0, one at 6.5, one at 7.0, one at 7.5, and one at 8.0. Then you walk two minutes at 4.0. WELP, you’re supposed to repeat 5x and I survived 2.5 cycles before I thought I was going to fly off the treadmill. In reality, I don’t think I got that good of a workout because I only clocked two miles total.

        I think the pacing you described sounds better for an overall calorie burn and to really add on the miles. Very interesting about the Galloway dude marathoner. It totally makes sense.

        Anyway, thank you for clarifying! I would love to be able to work up to six miles like your running club did someday, and these intervals just might do the trick.

  2. LOL!!! Yeah, we are such a really pretty group of moms! haha

    I’ve BECOME an early riser in my mommyhood – my kid used to love waking up at 6/6:30 EVERY weekend. Ugh. And then with training, I normally get up at 5 to get ready for runs at 5:30. It’s hard, but I’m used to it now and it does give me more time in the day to get other stuff done because who has time to do anything anymore these days?

    But yeah, I usually go to bed around 1am or later. Even on the nights I have to wake up early. I can’t help it. Night time is when I can get the most stuff done!

    • 6 a.m. is brutal! I was spoiled with an excellent sleeper the first time around. My second child… not so much. She likes to pull out a 5:45 every so often just to remind me who runs the show. I’m terrible at going to bed early, too.

  3. We loved that you ladies came out with us 🙂 Its always just me and Katie lol mostly because its so early when we run 😉 Your welcome for the pic and I hope you will come out again for a run with us 🙂

  4. I really enjoyed having you run with us!!! It seems people push themselves harder when in a group, even tho we did go slower than your normal pace, (slower than mine too) i don’t get headaches the way i used to do when i pushed myself to go faster. And i am SLOWLY learning that its not about the numbers…even tho i like to keep a reachable goal i mind when i set out to run. Can’t wait for the next one!!!

Leave a Reply

