To market, to market.

Last February, we started buying the majority of our weekly produce and meat at our local farmer’s market. With the addition of our fall CSA share, the only grocery store produce I needed were things like bananas and apples. When the market closed for the season in December, I didn’t realize how much I hate, hate, hate shopping at the grocery store.

I can’t help but wonder how long that lettuce has been sitting in a plastic bag and what on Earth they sprayed it with to keep it from browning. If the produce isn’t sealed, it usually has an impenetrable wax coating that comes off only after a FIT bath. And the prices. Oh, goodness. Eight dollars for a pint of organic Mexican strawberries. It wrong on so many fronts.

Adding to my shopping discomfort, I can usually count on hearing that song from the early 2000s about a big yellow taxi and not knowing what you’ve got until it’s gone. Yes, I’d rather have spots on my apples. Please do leave me the birds and the bees. And no, I did not know what I had until it closed for the season.

Anyway. I missed our farmer’s market and Saturday morning routine.

Thankfully – so, so thankfully – the farmer’s market resumed on Saturday and I was there with bells on. Not really, but I did shower for the occasion.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

If you’ve ever in Savannah, you’ve got to get some Perc in your coffee mug. They brew it at a lot of local joints and I’m never disappointed. I bought a pound of the Nicaragua Selva Negra and it’s heavenly.

I also picked up a head of cabbage grown by a local high school’s version of FFA, a bunch of dinosaur kale, beef from Savannah River Farms, and a beautiful dozen of eggs.

My itty-bitty refrigerator overfloweth.

And now, I wait eagerly for our CSA to resume (hopefully) next month.

Hi, I’m Liz and I’m a local/organic/sustainable/delicious food nerd.

Unrelated, my Facebook news feed has been taken over by people rambling on about some sort of football game and posting pictures of delicious looking finger foods. Oh, it’s the Superbowl? This cluelessness only happens when you’re married to a man who isn’t a sports fanatic. How did I get so lucky?

7 thoughts on “To market, to market.

  1. I also married a non-NFL watcher (although he does watch other sports). Instead of stuffing my face with appetizers and watching a game I don’t care about, I went to the grocery store and will be going to bed in 45 minutes. Love it!
    Your produce looks awesome, and it makes me jealous. Wisconsin doesn’t have much this time of year.

  2. I dread going to our grocery store. I stock up at better stores but I always end up there, searching for something they don’t have. Going to do a CSA share with my mom this spring/summer, very excited.

  3. Completely agree with Angie, Wisconsin is dreadfully barren of produce this time of year. Probably something to do with the 0° this time of year. Extremely jealous…of both the produce and weather. 😉 And I am also extremely pleased not to be married to a sports fanatic! I didn’t even know the Superbowl was yesterday…until my FB feed blew up. Haha.

  4. I really need to do better about getting my produce from the Farmer’s Market. And last week I was wondering when it started again, I didn’t know it would be so soon. I’ll have to make a trip there soon.

    My husband isn’t a huge sports watcher (at least on TV anyway) but does like watching the big games. I am the same way. I’ll watch some important games but not a lot. Fortunately (or unfortunately, depending on how you look at it), we go rid of cable 4 months ago so we couldn’t watch it. No big deal for us since we didn’t really care about the teams playing. Now, if the Falcons had made it, you would have seen us at a nearby sports bar. LOL!

Leave a Reply

