The dangers of the silent child.

All parents have one fear greater than all others.

Silence.

Parents: if you encounter silence, run towards it. Whatever you are doing is not, I repeat, not as important as what awaits you. The repercussions of ignoring it are costly.

I was showering before laying B down for her nap and settling E in for quiet time. We had spent the playing, ran to the gym and swung by Target for enough oranges and bananas to feed all of Savannah. The girls had been really well behaved – or perhaps I was more tolerant after the luxury of sleeping until 7 a.m. – so I thought I was golden to get a quick shower while they entertained themselves.

While I was in our master bathroom, I heard B rummaging around in our bedroom. She’s been known to dig around in our bedside stands so I yelled a warning and the noises stopped. After a quick rinse, I stuck my head in the bedroom and saw nothing amiss and assumed I was in the clear.

I threw on a pair of comfy pants and a sweatshirt and realized my bathroom mirror needed cleaned. Oh look, more socks on the floor. Have a brushed my teeth yet this morning?

And then I noticed the silence.

I stuck my head into the hallway and spotted E sitting on the couch with a book.  Since she’s typically the ring leader in their sisterly shenanigans, I assumed that B was playing with her blocks in the front room.

Me and that assuming. Never again. From now on, I will always require visual confirmation.

After a few minutes, I made my way into the living room and spotted B across the room, hiding in the corner. She spotted me and ran. Not good.

When I caught the little mischief maker, this was what I found.

IMG_5058

A little blurry? Sorry, that’s because I was chasing her around the living room.

Let’s take another look:

IMG_5051

That would be my very thick, rather pricey Tarte under-eye concealer. All over B’s pretty little face. In her nose. Caked deeply in her eye lids.

IMG_5063I couldn’t even be angry. Trust me, I wanted to. But she wanted to be like her Momma. Secondly, she looked outrageous. Third, it was already past her nap time and I needed to focus all my energy on getting that kid in the bath and figuring out how to get the makeup out of her pretty little lids.

This is why I buy products that I believe are the safest not just for me, but for my kids. Because things like this happen.  Tarte’s products are eco-friendly, cruelty-free and have no parabens, synthetic fragrances, SLS and other nasties (source). I can’t imagine what poor B’s super sensitive skin would have looked like if she had gotten into traditional cosmetics. She probably would have been a walking, talking, 28-pound hived eczema patch.

Have you checked your makeup, hair products, and skin care items on the Environmental Working Group’s Skin Deep list? Do it!

Until then, all my makeup has been relocated and I’m on high alert for the sounds of silence. Of course, that didn’t stop E from “redecorating” her bedroom while I made dinner last night. But that’s a story for another day.

8 thoughts on “The dangers of the silent child.

  1. LOL! As long as I can hear my kids, even when they are yelling at eachother, it’s ok but when its quiet I know they are up to something

  2. Oh the dreaded silence!!! For our sanity….we need it every once in a while….but when it comes to kids…you only want it if they are asleep! When awake…the outcome is never good! Too funny!

Leave a Reply

