Friday Favorites [7.19.13]

Welcome to another edition of Friday Favorites at The Lambent Life. Hosted by yours truly, the crazy mother of two crazy children who are mastering the arts of nitpicking and tattle-telling as the summer chugs along. Ah, don’t let my complaints fool you. It’s fun. It’s not like I naive to life with a house full of females – my parents had four daughters, after all. Raising these two girls has become more enjoyable than it is soul crushing, so I’ll call our current situation a win.

Here are some of my most recent favorites, in no particular order:

Silver and Blue Threaded Necklace

What? You don't take selfies in your 4-year-old's bed room?

What? You don’t take selfies in your 4-year-old’s bed room?

I love, love World Market. I stopped in last week after a Pure Barre class to find something new to hang in our front room but was easily distracted by their jewelry selection. I’ve recently found some really gorgeous and affordable pieces that come from all over the world. I can’t stomach spending loads of cash on bold pieces of clothing so I like to dress up simple outfits with beautiful jewelry. Aside from this necklace, I’m liking these, this and this, too.

Double Spice Chai Tea

0003068481986_500X500

I haven’t been digging coffee much, lately. And no, I’m definitely not pregnant. There’s enough crazy up in here. Anyway. I’ve upped my vitamin D and B12 intake but Momma is still dragging in the afternoon. So I was stoked to find Stash Double Spice Chai Tea on clearance at Target for less than $2. Add a dash of sugar and half and half… mmm. I may never go back to drinking coffee.

Back to School

IMG_7498

Em goes back to school in less than a month – whoa. Every weekend between now and then are filled with vacations, birthday parties and lots of time at the beach. So I’ve been trying to get a head start on back to school shopping and it’s really sinking in that my little girl is heading to real school for a full day with teachers and kids I don’t know. In uniforms! Impossibly small uniforms. And her very own nap mat that I’m certain will not be long enough for my long-legged girl. I’m also realizing that entering a school system is an entirely different world than the one I currently reside and they speak another language filled with learning philosophies and specific notebook standards. It’s full of PTO, board meetings, supply lists, bell times and doctor’s excuses. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t feeling a bit overwhelmed and intimidated. But I’m confidant that this school is where God has Em for the time being. So, there’s that.

Homemade Popsicles

IMG_7520

In case you forgot, it’s miserably hot and humid in these parts. Paired with my newest form of bribery – nay, parenting excellence – we’re eating a lot of frozen treats in the Lambent Household. I found some cheap popsicle molds at Target and threw together some melon, peach, full-fat coconut milk and fresh honey from Urbanna Farm in our well-loved magic bullet. Easy peasy. Dairy-free, clean-eating right here.

+++++++++++++

That’s it, folks. I’m insisting Josh take us out to dinner since he flaked out on lunch today and is leaving work late today. I mean, what is he doing that’s more interesting and important than listening to my incessant whining? Seriously.

Lastly, my dear friend Jessica from My Front Porch is having a giveaway over at Willamette Valley Wonder Woman for a free set of homemade recipe cards – it ends soon so check it out!

Leave a Reply

