Radio Silence.

I began college as a journalism major. In one of my first courses, I learned that the greatest sin in broadcasting is dead air. Radio silence. No transmission. Whatever you do, don’t do nothing.

I guess that’s sort of what I did that here.

Sorry about that, folks.

Sometimes life is just so exhausting that taking precious time to sit down and talk about just that begins to feel a tiny bit sadistic and whole lot counterproductive. Someone once told me that you will head in the direction you set your gaze. I liked that. So, I’m gazing onward.

Let’s recap the past few weeks and all get on the same page, shall we?

Christmas was fine.

New Years was fine.

Over the course of two weeks, two of our dearest friends moved away. I loved those mommas. My daughters loved their daughters. There were (are) many tears and I can’t think about it without beginning to wallow again. Moving along…

My daughters are awesome. Except for the days when they are not and whine, cry, scream, hit and act otherwise heathen-like from 6:30 a.m. (when the sneak out of their room to make themselves cheesy Dorito and {expensive} maple syrup sandwiches for breakfast) until 9:30 p.m. (when I lose my momma cool and throw a tantrum of my own because they are out of their beds and pulling each others’ hair nearly 2 hours past their bedtime). Which seem to be happening more days than not but, again, I’m thinking positively about all their wonderful traits. None of which come quickly to mind but I know they are there, hovering just beneath the sticky surface.

Valentine’s Day is coming and I have no plans, no gifts and no intentions of anything otherwise. Didn’t we just celebrate Christmas? Didn’t I just buy everyone presents?

Josh was traveling last week and in a brief moment of insanity, I decided to take the girls to see their first movie in a theatre. Em was amazed at the big screen, Blair was terrified of the noise and they both drank their weight in fruit punch. Hello, Red Dye 40! They were probably the last girls in America to see Frozen but they loved it, requested their own Elsa and Anna dolls and daily reenact the slaying of the ice monster.

Bmovie1

OK! That was a fun trip down memory lane.

I pinky swear I’m going to really try and stop disappearing. And stop being so boo-hooey.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Radio Silence.

Leave a Reply

